MonoMonday: "Everyday/Ordinary"

For Mole's MM challenge this week I decided on an everyday item: my breakfast cereal.

You may think that it meets the "ordinary" challenge too, but it's actually unique as I like to mix my own muesli - the commercial varieties never seem to have the taste and texture that I like (fussy old me!).

So I include porridge oats (of course) along with bran flakes, but I add lots of nuts (walnuts, pecans and flaked almonds), chopped dried fruit (apricots, dates and sometimes mango and pineapple if I can get them), sultanas or raisins, pumpkin seeds and banana chips. It's tasty and crunchy in a bowl of milk - and different every time I make a new batch as I'm sure I never get the proportions exactly the same. My stocks go down very quickly when we have our sons visiting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.