Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

David Lawrence the Hunter

I finally made it to the much-loved Brandywine River Museum at Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania, which is only about 30 miles from my digs. I should have visited in the 1980s when I first lived in these parts, but what can one do? I'm embarrassed but very pleased that I made the trip..

The Brandywine presents artwork of the Wyeth Circle, of which N. C. Newell Convers ("N. C.") Wyeth (1882-1945) was the central figure.

Of equal importance was N. C.'s son Andrew Wyeth (1917-2009).
To blip the visit I chose this striking portrait of the artist's age-mate, friend and neighbor David Lawrence. The extra pic tells you all about it.

I cannot overstate the high quality of this museum, which is at surrounded by a lovely garden and the natural, very shallow Brandywine Creek. Were it located in a world capital it would be high on the list of tourist attractions. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.