today's another day

By dbrereton

A remarkable afternoon

So yesterday I found myself with time to kill, I took yesterdays picture, and then walked across the street to one of my favourite haunts, for a solitary pint, and a spare hour or so. The Crown Posada.

In the old days, old me would have found this impossible, but I quite like my own company now, the peace and quiet.

A few pints of real ale, a scribble on my remarkable (very much work in progress) and because it was playing, on an actual LP at the end of the bar, some Black Sabbath. Go Ozzy.

Then a wander through the Toon, with more and more 'barcodes' revealing themselves as we got near kick off time.

Finally I was listening to the greatest football soundtrack for a stadium in the build up to Citeh v Newcastle. Blaydon Races and of course the Theme from Local Hero is the last one as they players break for the kick off.

3 all, a great match, watched subbuteo style from somewhere in the clouds and the NOISE - and what noise!

Anyway, today I have an unexpected ear-worm. It's a song many of you won't know, but its a cracker, and Mark Knopfler is on guitar for this from one of Newcastle's most famous sons, although he has perfected the art of retiring from view.....

https://open.spotify.com/track/65vO5Vvz2Wd9qtBaYxTNY9?si=9c298d16df2f4530

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.