One click at a time

By KeithKnight

Dried Up

When I was in Secondary school I was taught that the local water table had been lowered by the industry that came to the town in the first half of the 20th Century. I then lived in other parts of the country before returning almost 30 years ago.

When I moved away this sight of the River Lea a couple of miles from the source was not exactly commonplace as the bed remained muddy, though the river was rarely seen in full flow. In the meantime new housing developments have changed the watercourses north of the town and restarted the river flowing reliably. (I presume that has also diverted water away from somewhere else, since any action has consequences.)

This is the first time that I have seen the river bed this dry, ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.