Start of a New Year for the Cambridge Camera Club.

Start of a New Year for the Cambridge Camera Club.

Excellent start to the new Camera Club Season tonight. I am honoured to be the President again for the next two years. As a club we do not recycle Presidents and I was surprised when Mark, our previous president, asked me to stand again. I was in the chair for the 2016 / 17 season

So here we are at the start of an exciting time. 

Back to meeting face to face. This is as long as we can safely do this this. 

Tonight we welcomed 10 new members and met up some members from the last couple of years we have not seen much face to face. Plus a lot of old friends. For an August meeting we had about 50 of our 200 members

Tonight we also celebrated the life of Elizabeth Smilth. She was a member for many years and was a welcoming face to the club for new members. Such a kind lady. When I joined in circa 2008 she was the first person I spoke to and EVERY week she would come up to me and asked how I was doing. She always remembered my name.

When she passed away in late 2019 she left a surprising legacy to the camera club and we intend to use the money over the next 10 years bring new knowledge to our members and, as this evening, raise a glass to her memory. She loved flowers and tonight we had a print stand dedicated to her memory with beautiful flowers. 

It was such a joy standing in front of most friendly camera club I know. I am looking forward to the next two years (I Think)

In todays image you can see Debs who has already agreed to take the presidential baton from me in two - or is it one? year :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.