Carder Bee

At least I think it‘s a worker bee of that species. I was happy to find a pretty wild bee and some flowers on the buddleja for a blip.

The European Commission stated today that the current drought looks like the worst in 500 years. I can only remember the last 50 years or so, but it’s certainly the worst in that time. When I drove back from my mother’s today, huge clouds of dust were rising up with the wind from the fields. It feels like living in a desert.

I had been to my mother’s house to meet a gardener who was going to be there at 3 PM, to see the garden and give me a quote for some jobs that need doing this autumn. A friend of my mother’s carer Frau G had recommended him, so she also came and waited with me to meet the guy.

When he didn’t show up, we called him at 3:30, but only got his voicemail. Soon after, he called back. Without apologizing, he just stated that he was still working at a place near Rüdesheim and would soon pack up to meet us at about 4:30. 

Being 90 minutes late for a first appointment - not the best way to introduce yourself to a new customer. We declined.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.