We Are Family

The picture has nothing to do with the title or any of this text. It’s just that I struggle to take photographs of robins back home in Kendal so was not going to pass up the opportunity when this Chester based robin was happy to pose whilst I took his photo!
But today has been about family. And, amazingly, they are all still alive at the end of the day, in spite of yesterday’s dire predictions.*
I took mum and sister to Currys this morning to buy a new fridge freezer. We agreed on which one fairly quickly, but it then took an inordinately long time to complete the transaction due to an almost complete lack of staff. I had to speak to the manager and play the “elderly mother/handicapped sister” card to get some service, though this slightly backfired as we got the trainee who had to keep referring to the manager for guidance. I persuaded my sister to pay extra for a delivery slot on Friday by dangling the carrot that I would still be around to help on that day.
To complete the family reunion, my other sister and her husband called to see us this afternoon whilst out on a bike ride. We all agreed that mother is a big worry, but her persistent refusal to accept proper help leaves us feeling very frustrated at times.

*There then followed an amusing ten minutes whilst my sister and I worked out in what order we would each have to bump off various family members in order to be “last man standing” and inherit everything. This blip may be of interest to the police if I should meet with an “accident” in the next few weeks…!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.