Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

A comeback, hopefully

another drive north—
i hope this is a new start
to daily blipping

Thanks to all of you who wondered where I had gone, and how I was. Truth be told, I've been better, but I'm also better than I've been, so there's that. :-)

Today, I went (again) to Trestel, the rehab centre where I spent a few months three years ago. Last time, which is also when I last blipped, close to two months ago, I had gone to have my feet measured in every dimension to fit me for orthopaedic shoes. Today, I got to try a model: the sole is indeed what it will be in the final work, but the upper part was made of transparent plastic, which the ortho attendant cut open so I could fit my feet in, then closed again with tape so I could walk in them. They will be a great help, I think, though the two-hour drive made me a bit too tired to judge clearly. At least I felt comfortable in them.

The nicest part was choosing the model. They'll be ankle-high, scarlet in colour, made of soft calf leather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.