Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Oh I do like to be beside the seaside

I took a sudden notion to get out of the house for a while. The weather was pleasant enough to entice me out in the first place, but it was high time anyway to get some fresh air and exercise.

I went to Donabate and was delighted I did. I sat and nursed a Bulmers on the terrace at the Shoreline Hotel, more or less beside the Martello tower at the entrance to the beach, before getting the legs into gear and venturing onto the beach. It was surprisingly warm despite quite a strong breeze. The beach was blissfully under-populated, with just a few family groups scattered around sunning themselves and splashing around.

When I got back to the hotel terrace I treated myself to a hot chocolate and a sizeable toasted cheese sandwich from the truck that's parked there. All in all, a hugely enjoyable few hours. It's good to get out and about. I must do it again soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.