Bristolwood and Beyond

By bristolwood

Colorful Visitors!

I spent a few stolen minutes trying so hard to get a decent photo of the birds outside the window today. The wind has been blowing, causing every branch to sway about and causing me to get frustrated. Add to that the "flitty" nature of finches in general, and well, you get the idea!

I finally got a fairly decent photo, but as you can see, the branches were in the way! Ah well...

The colors in the tree have been so outstanding today. The Goldfinches are bright yellow, the House Finches are the most beautiful raspberry color. Joining them are Robins and Red-Bellied Woodpeckers. It is like having a rainbow in the trees!

I had to research my bird, as it is easy to confuse House Finches and Purple Finches. Purple Finches are definitely *not* purple. So, anyway, the verdict is, my finch above is a House Finch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.