Pavel Haas

Very slow lazy start this morning…basically just up in time to pop across to the Queens Hall to see the Pavel Haas quartet. Was a sublime recital…would be worth catching on Sounds later as like all the morning concerts it was broadcast on Radio 3 and so available afterwards. Perhaps however the real magic was seeing them, as they operated like a single person, entrained together with constant glances and coordinated movements between the four of them. I was very close although at the side and their close understanding and relationship was palpable. I even sat really still so it must have been good given what a fidget I am!
Sat next to an ex colleague who was bemoaning how these morning recitals used to be full of her colleagues and they no longer are (wonder why?!). Sigh…
Straight on to a lunch in St Andrew’s Sq which was lovely although I had to be on full ‘adopt a role’ form, keeping my counsel as I listened to, smiled through and gently queried some very reactionary views. Second sigh of the day! Luckily I am well practised at remaining apparently upbeat and easy going throughout such lunches regardless….since it’s all in service of the greater good.
Walked back home via a stop in Old College Quad to take a call from the hospital about P….essentially he’s not needing further medical intervention so we’re moving into a period of more active planning for next steps. Timing is good given I’ll be down there for a week or so next Monday.
After the call I saw AH and we chatted for a while about her new house etc and plans to meet up again, then popped into my old office to collect mail and the memory book that was part of my leaving gift but was delayed in the post. Home and read through it…really lovely and quite emotional!
Realised I was tired and slightly festivalled out, so decided to miss the concert I was booked to see (Mahler’s 3rd). Felt a bit guilty but made a one pan supper of roast veg and pork loin with an improvised salsa verde (where I substituted some fresh dill pickles for capers since I didn’t have any, and jolly nice it was too!) and then whilst A tidied up and sorted out stuff that had accumulated in the footstool box I started knitting my new throw….nice chunky wool and needles!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.