Damsel in the Fen

With the excuse of needing some petrol, I headed over to the Riverside Nature Reserve near Guildford for a wander through the reserve and along the River Wey and Navigations.

The reserve includes a wetland area known as The Fen which is covered by a network of broadwalks, last seen in their normally boggy glory in February, but today looking more like an overgrown meadow after the dry Summer.  

A bird hide, or rather viewing platform, has been built over one of the small ponds (still with water), though I was sad to see it had been subject to vandalism and  some of the higher screen destroyed. There wasn't much life to be seen, but I did spot a large dragonfly flitting around (too fast to capture) and this damselfly posed nicely for me - even waiting while I added the extender to my long lens!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.