Lala's Journal

By Lala

Cosmos

In a pot.

I struggled this morning, I think I put so much energy into being more positive yesterday I used it all up! I hadn’t been at work long when I received a message from the daughter of our neighbours who had lived next door. They both died in tragic circumstances during Covid and I had helped her a little. She has sold their house now and messaged to let ‘us’ know and ask how we were. I had to send a message, no easy way to say it, and within minutes she called me. Absolutely devastated for me and also because she hadn’t known, and would have wanted to ‘be there for me’. She was so sweet and I was reminded of how kindness comes from unexpected quarters. 

I also saw Rosie today. She and I worked together in the pottery painting cafe that I inherited with the education manager role (thank goodness it’s gone)! She then worked with B on the same team for three years. She had come in for a visit, having moved away last year. She too was sad and upset to have heard about B from their manager - him who has not said a word to me!

I was reading an article this evening about EQ (Rosie had mentioned it and I had to google) and grief and came across the following quote that someone had sent to a man struggling over the death of his mother and not receiving any understanding from a close friend.

“Don’t look for understanding in others, they weren’t there and don't know what you went through and therefore can’t offer any compassion and understanding to match the intense level you were and are still on. You will only multiply your frustration. Look for comfort and forgiveness within yourself, focus on you."


Wise words that I will try to apply!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.