Light & sight

By CameronDP

I was like...

I ended up in a queue behind a gaggle of teenage girls while boarding the public omnibus today. Their conversation went something like this:
"And I was like, oh my Gawwd...and he was like, that is so crazy....and then my Mum was like, get outta town....!!!"
"No way!"
I can't help but wonder whether in maybe 100 years or so, the verb 'to wozlike' will have completely replaced the word 'to say' and...err, saying 'say' will sound as old-fashioned as 'quoth' does now.....
*the screen goes all wibbly wobbly as we leap forward to the year 2113....you're watching the climax of Hologrammatic Masterchef series 104 on your cranial implant, when an announcer's voice suddenly interrupts a debate on the merits of genetically simulated foodstuffs*
"Earlier today Global President Chang announced the first ever face-to-proboscis contact with intelligent life from outside the solar system. And he wozlike, 'my fellow global citizens, at this historic moment, I'm all like oh my Gawwdd!!' "

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.