Almondblossom

By Almondblossom

I didn’t mean to do it…

At the start of 2022 my friend Sarah and I vowed not to buy more books this year because
a) our to-read piles were ridiculous anyway
b) we would share books, posting them between us
c) limited budget. .
We have both utterly failed, heheh! New fiction just now is so exciting and vibrant with lots of new and diverse authors being published and giving us access to their work. And I cannot resist.

This little collection arrived today along with Station Eleven, which I’ve already started. I was reading a Guardian article about autumn books to watch out for and there was Kamila Shamsie’s new book which I’ve been eagerly awaiting. I got completely sidetracked (my normal) and bought these from my wish list “in case I forgot about them” instead of pre -ordering Kamila Shamsie’s. That’ll be another little spree…

The other great thing about new books is they’re such a positive diversion from the hideous state UK (specifically English) politics is in. How many times in the last 12 years have we said “it can’t get any worse, surely” and it always does.

In other news: RAIN! Lots and lots of it. Those of you who have seen my son’s pup grow during the last six months will recognise him. He was very p****d off with it - bearing in mind it’s not really rained in his entire life so far. He stared at my daughter in law until she took him in out of the wet. Little monkey

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.