reflections

By snapso

Half Crazy

A common daisy, yes (I believe it’s an oxeye daisy).

There are a few on our lawn, and I’m staying close to home today.

Daisy rhymes with crazy. I’m reminded of HAL in ‘2001 A Space Odyssey’ singing “Daisy Bell”.

I’m half crazy, all for the love of you.

The first song to be sung by a computer (an IBM 7094, in 1961). It was written in 1892 and sounds like it, but everyone from Nick Cave to Katy Perry has covered it, go figure.

I saw “2001” by myself during the school holidays. It is the only film I’ve been to where the audience (small, as I recall) was given an explanatory leaflet so they might know what it was about.

It was the ending, I suppose. Rather than leave it to individual interpretation (or puzzlement), perhaps the leaflet helped.

Nowadays it’s regarded as a true classic.

On a similar train of thought (if you’re still onboard), I remember watching reruns of the cult Patrick McGoohan series “The Prisoner” in the States (late ’70s). And was amused that each episode included a psychologist explaining what it was all about. “The Prisoner” also ended with lots of unanswered questions.

But maybe we shouldn’t know the answers to everything. Is that crazy?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.