Thursday: The River God Tyne

I had to take care of something at the Civic Centre in Newcastle this morning so K and I got the Metro into town.  I’d never been there before but it’s a fabulous building, a real 1960s classic.  The woman I needed to meet told me that a lot of filming is done there.  This sculpture is just outside.

We took care of some other things while in town, including buying sun screen and insect repellent as it’s very expensive in Unnamed Next Destination.  I’m also looking for some new glasses, something a bit lighter in colour than my black ones.  That was a bit more frustrating as I either looked like Dame Edna Everage or Danger Mouse’s sidekick, Penfold.  I’ll have to try a few more places

This evening I charmingly informed K that, if we had been on the Titanic, and she hadn’t been able to get in a boat, I would have stayed with her.  She was very touched but, quite rightly, pointed out that it was unlikely we’d be able to test my sincerity.  To be fair, there was some context to this as I’d just been reading about the Titanic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.