HClaireB

By HClaireB

St Ives bowl

It's been a most unphotogenic day today - misty this morning and cloudy, dull and muggy this afternoon. The only photo I took is this iphone shot of the bowl I bought in St Ives a couple of weeks ago. From the other side it looks "perfect", which is how it was displayed in the Leach Pottery. But when I turned it round, I found that it had this wonderful "slump" in the glaze, which is what really appealed to me. It's not a bad colour match to the larger bowl behind it that I got from an Italian potter friend many years ago. Behind both of them is a trial print for our next photography competition.

I was going through the photos I took at Messums Wiltshire yesterday and rather liked the shot in the extra. The maquette on the stand is the small version of the 8 foot giants I posted yesterday. There was a (mature) ladies dance group in the gallery. The lady on the right was videoing, and the ladies on the left were walking elegantly past the maquette and mimicking the stance of the figures, turning their heads as they could be seen through the gaps between the figures. I have a video as well which sadly I can't post here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.