Marigolds

Even during my hiatus from making quilts, I find myself getting involved in tasks so  all-consuming that I seem to run out of time for everything else. Today it was editing my photos. It seems like this should be a fairly quick and easy job, but alas, it is not so. Today I got sidetracked into researching possible non-lawn drought resistant ground covers for our large hilly front lawn weed patch when I came across some pictures of the Sunset demonstration gardens that I took on a visit there a few years ago.

Last time I strayed down this path, we wound up building  Sunset inspired compost processing bins. It was a family project with Dana and Tim and Owen all involved, not to mention several dogs. (I came across pictures of that effort too). The compost bins and the lovely compost within burned down to the cement foundation, and  Owen is no longer interested in such projects, nor is John, so he had David rebuild them.

Today I came across a picture of what looks like carex* which I have always thought would make a good lawn substitute. Upon further research it turns out that although it doesn't have to be mowed and is quite drought resistant, it DOES need to be well watered until is is established, so the middle of fire season doesn't seem like quite the ideal time. Plus planting seeds on a hill is not recommended because they just wash away. We'll just have to live with a dead lawn until (if) it rains.

I was also reminded that 2017, the year of the first, and worst firestorm in Santa Rosa, destroying over 5,000 homes, was also one of the wettest, the rains coming after the fires and creating another kind of havoc in the form of floods in the lowlands of the Laguna. 

By the time I relived fires, floods, several graduations Christmases and many birthdays, I was only up to 2019 and now it is almost wine time! Spike is patiently waiting for me to get on with it as we have taken to sitting on the porch to enjoy our prepriandial glass of wine and throw his Kong for him.

The whole gang showed up for coffee this morning back at Café Frida. The service was much improved but the coffee still isn't very good. However, the gathering of friends is much more important than the quality of the coffee and the outdoor patio is a lovely place to sit.

The marigolds were a bouquet from Dana from the farmers' market. I chose a rather dark  presentation since they are a little past their prime....They had a good time there and we plan to go with them tomorrow. Apparently there is a very good coffee stand there....

*extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.