Eske is back!

I last saw her in 2018, as she was going home to Frankfurt to write her novel based in part on her experiences as a volunteer in Portland, serving unhoused people. She returned to her job as a journalist part-time and set aside time to work on her novel. She has completed it (in German) and is looking for a publisher, but she's back in Portland to see old friends (including me). She only has ten days to spend here.

She has an idea of something I might do for the houseless community. Not photography, as my structural issues (ankle, knee, back) are making it difficult for me to work in the field, so to speak; but there is something I might be able to do, a way I might be able to serve.... I'll meet with her and some people on Sunday evening and explore the suggestion further. I'm intrigued.

I like this portrait of Eske because she is deeply and genuinely concerned for the lives of people living on the streets, and I think it shows here. She also flashed me a smile (Extra), but I think this one got her complexity, compassion, and fury.

Evan arrived at 1pm and spent the rest of the day with me till 9. I'm exhausted. I can't do comments tonight but I have to say thank you, I am deeply touched by the love lavished on yesterday's photo of Margie, who has become a Blip Star in her own right. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.