memento

By memento

King of the Koi

Since my plant nursery withdrawal was reaching critical levels and we're in the market for a few garden additions, we had the mutual bright idea to head out on a scouting mission for the first time since last August. Big mistake...a sunny Sunday in May is not the day, too many people made my nerves fray but now that I'm home, I am OK.

This enormous koi was lazily circling the pond, surveying his lush and shadowy kingdom, unaware of the hordes of eager gardeners out to find the perfect perennial, the awesomest annual and the prettiest planters. Almost a foot and a half long, he has to be older than me...I'm fairly sure of that after reading about these truly remarkable fish.

In our extreme climate, they are gently removed from the pond and placed in a swanky indoor tank at the garden center to overwinter. That's what I need! A summer home and a winter home...maybe some day.

I'm off to plant some things!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.