R4G

By R4G

Plums

I bought these organic plums a week ago, half price. (Even at that point they were past their ‘best’.) I then arrived home, promptly plonked them (in a well-concealing paper bag) in the fridge and forgot they were there. Cue, six days later and I rediscover the mouldering fruit. My plan, at the time of buying, was to use them in a favourite Nigella recipe (baked, spiced aromatic plums) and that is what I will do, despite their decrepitude. It’s a fabulous and very forgiving recipe, producing a pudding that is sweet, but not overly so, fragrant and incredibly moreish. And best of all, the finished product will sit, happily, in the fridge for at least a week (if not more), probably to do with the use of both red wine and honey in its creation. I hate to waste any food - luckily, on this occasion, I have a get-out clause, despite my forgetfulness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.