Shutterup

By Shutterup

Uplifting

I think I have rather fallen in love with the leaves of sunflowers.. I love the way they dance in the breeze and look like they are lifting the flower to grow higher and more beautiful.  This is the fifth sunflower success in my garden this year.  I think the slugs and snails were drying up by the time I put these out so they didn't gobble up the small plantlets at an early stage.  I have a running battle with snails particularly as we have dry stone walls around the garden which gives plenty of shelter for them to live in.  Anyway.. this one is a beauty.  I was given the seed by a friend and each one seems to be so different.. I will have to ask her what they were.. so far no brown ones but they have varied in height and colour and delicacy too.. 
It has been a lovely gentle warm day. perfect for me! 
I have rescued a Hydrangea that I was given last year.  It started leafing up well this spring but became a little swamped when I wasn't looking by other plants.. then my nice gardeners came in with their shears and lopped it off at about three inches high!  I was horrified.... but left it there for a couple of weeks.  When I went to investigate it this afternoon I saw a teeny tiny little leaf bud opening up very close to the soil.  I have dug it up and inspected its roots.. they are good and strong it has to be said and I have potted it into a nice big pot where I will nurture it over the winter.  I would hate to lose it.  I was also delighted to see it has actually got 4 tiny growths starting on it so I have some hope it will be a better plant next year. Fingers crossed (which I think is a regular pose for gardeners!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.