Dereva

Driver.

I am enjoying Swahili words which are based on English words but written based on their pronunciation in an African accent. As well as dereva, we have wikendi (weekend) and ofisi (office).

At the moment I am feeling good about being productive and effective, with a much improved energy at work compared to most of the last few years. It’s reminiscent of most years at my previous organisation, where the workload rarely fostered balance, but the energy remained high. To achieve balance, realistically I’ll have to change sector in the future. Or get a personality transplant. Probably the former.

A tuk tuk I used today had a very notable and pleasant strawberry fragrance when I slid inside.

It was nice seeing this street name in Dar es Salaam, because in Maputo I used to live on Avenida Patrice Lumumba.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.