EEPaul

By EEPaul

Stationary on the M4

Helen and I decided to have a couple of days away, tagged on after she attended a conference in Cardiff. The plan was for me to drive over to South Wales, pick her up and then drive to our hotel near Bridgend....

... except I got held up by traffic congestion, first, on the M25 in Surrey and then on the M4. I ended up stationary in the middle lane somewhere east of Membury Services after an accident ahead (a Transit van had smashed into the central reservation). I figured that when the orange-clad men got off their van's roof we would start to move. After a two-hour wait, the queued traffic was finally able to crawl past the accident scene.

Meantime, Helen had caught the train to Bridgend intending to get a taxi to the hotel... only there were no taxis available to take her (every one was pre-booked and no Ubers!), so she ended up waiting for over an hour for me to arrive and collect her.

My foot was zapped with a second course of shockwave therapy yesterday. There was no dramatic impact immediately afterwards this time, so I am hopeful that we will be able to do some of our planned Wales walks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.