And there it was, gone!

We've had the Viburnum tree for many years, it was a small bush but then decided it wanted to grow up and be a tree.
Only problem I had with it was the mess. Continuous falling, dead, leaves all year round, it also had a funny musty sort of smell at times.
But we are planning some changes in the garden so it had to go. It does mean that we will get more sun in the morning, which will be nice. I'd already started in the top left photo before I thought of 'before and after' photos.
I started off using my fathers old Black and Decker jig-saw, not the right tool for the job but it's ok on stuff that isn't too thick. The long blade snapped so nipped to Homebase to get a new one. They didn't have the long toothed, long in length, blade so went for a new toy, top right photo. That really did do the job. It got difficult at the bottom, Viburnum is very hard wood and it was quite thick too. Daniel turned up and suggested drilling holes to make it less dense to saw through. I actually used one of my 'Flat Wood' drill bits that are used for making wide holes in wood. That really worked well. I drilled four or five holes right through the base and the new saw did the rest.
A good days work there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.