Acrobat

I consider myself lucky to have caught this blue tit taking an elderberry as I had just about given up trying to catch something in the tree and was just faffing around looking at anything that might turn in to a blip.

I had a lazy start to the day because Tony was awake before the alarm and started breakfast when it was actually my turn, so I gained an extra hour in bed with the Archers and my latest Chris Brookmyre.  Thank you Tony.  Once vertical I did some journal catching up whilst awaiting the supermarket delivery.  When the van arrived I shook out the IKEA bags on the doorstep and two of them promptly blew away.  In fact I've only just remembered one of them is still over the wall.... What's the betting I forget to retrieve it after I have finished here?

Since that is shaping up to be the most exciting thing in the day, I've pottered half heartedly with a few jobs.  The washing machine has been pongy lately so the delivery had brought with it some cleanser which I duly poured in to the drawer and set the machine going on a previously unused cycle of 60 degrees, that's probably cost me a week's pension in electricity.  I returned ten minutes later to find froth oozing from the drawer all over the kitchen floor.  It was like one of those sixties sci-fi tv programmes, 'The Thing from the Washing Machine' and it just kept on coming as fast as I could swab it up!  Can you tell it has been an exciting day?

There was a knock at the door and lovely neighbours J and M came round to see if they could work out why my newly fitted cassette set on my bike is slipping at gear change.  J rode it up and down a few times and it seemed to be fixed, then there was that ugly clunk.  It's going to have to go back to the shop.  At least we got to hear about their holiday in Aviemore and their experiences on the Aonach Eagach ridge.

Tony has disappeared to do a local circuit on his bike and I'm waiting to hear if WilsdenWalker would like to hobble earlier than usual as it's just the two of us today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.