Musings of a Mortal

By KennyRiley

Day oot in Embra

Initially it was a smaller than anticipated group to descend into the capital but it was still a grand day out (and much more enjoyable in my eyes).

4 firefighters off for some food then beer... Now what could possibly go wrong with that!!

We had always tried to get out to celebrate Dave Mac (sitting in the middle of the 3 amigos) getting a promotion to a Crew Commander role on another shift and today it finally happened.

As someone who I had the privalige to mentor in his probationary years, it's great to see his potential being realised and hopefully his career will continue to flourish.

And as I come to the twilight of my fire service career, I have noticed that a number of the watch that I serve on are considering a move up the career ladder.... and I truly desire that I can influence them in a positive way to encourage them to take the necessary steps to achieve their goals.

The path ahead is wide open to them.

"Burkenstock" (sitting next to me in the orange jacket ) is considering a move which is great to hear and I have no doubt that "Purco Pig" (furthest left and the 4th mutant of the quartet) will in time move onto greater heights himself.

I left them early to head back home.... Who knows what carnage ensued after that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.