Thirty No More

By MarkusMeerkat

More sun, more tulips

Another blue sky day in Bristol. Another day working from home, with no work to do.
However, rather than sitting in front of the computer hoping for a job to turn up - I've tried to be productive and do a bit more of Ciarán's tree house.

Some people seem to think working for a company and getting paid when you have nothing to do should be great; but I can tell you it is not.

The stress levels of being between projects are dreadful as you have no idea where they are going to try and send you next. When I was young free and single it was not so bad. In deed I spent over an entire year spending the working week in the same hotel in south Manchester, and had a pretty good time.

But now as I approach the big four oh! (only 267 blips away) I like the comfort of my own house (thank you very much). Not to mention the fact of a 5 year old and a 1.5 year old that need taking care of.

I know that it would be easier if only one of us worked, and one of us looked after the kids; but if we did that we would lose half our income (both on pretty equal salaries); so for now we'll persevere as is; and I'll dream of getting onto a project in Bristol (or something that allows for 3 days working from home, and 2 days on client site - a good mix I think).

2 days to my first 'big' blip; and trying to think what I can photograph. If it's sunny, it may well be some more of the garden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.