Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Colours We Remember

We know that taste and smell can evoke faraway memories and certain past situations, but have you ever thought about how the colours we see, or remember, can have a huge impact on how we feel in the moment?

I remember a favourite dress I had, because of the colours, when my children were little. I sought out a photo of that dress and crocheted a granny square to match the soft colours which started  in pale pink, through to lavender in a lovely harmonious way. 

The names of the colours I have used to reproduce my dress colours are: Clematis, Wisteria, Lavender and Bluebell. Don't you want you to own a dress in those names?

The photo was taken when my son was five and his sister three. I remember this moment perfectly when I was teaching them a little poem!  Such happy days and sweet memories. Remembering  with emotion, all because of the colours of my favourite dress!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.