Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

After work I considered trekking across the town centre to grab a shot of the really creepy bit of public statuary that I showed Arachne yesterday afternoon, though it is very difficult to get an adequate image of it. But then I spotted this, and although it has nothing at all to commend it, it suited me well enough to illustrate my mood. It's fractionally more interesting from the opposite side, but that would have meant pointing the camera at the sun and reducing any bits of interest to silhouette, so I've compromised. I have painted out the spiders and turned the whole thing mono, which is not something I have ever done before. But at least the edit makes it an 'original'.
I know nothing about 'The Pilgrim's Progress', but this suggested to me a person growing weary of relocation in the pursuit of happiness only to be met with endless disappointment.
I like Bedford. I do.
But my employer continues to fail to impress me. I wasn't impressed at my interview and nothing has improved. Yes the tasks are interesting and challenging and some of the other members of staff are friendly enough, but the employers themselves are not people I think I will ever like or be proud to work for.
It came to my notice today that the office telephone number is an 0844 number.
That means that it is usually a more expensive number to call and also that the number being called makes a profit from receiving calls. The rules state that there should be an outgoing message telling the caller what the charge is, but oddly, my employer doesn't appear to have one of those.
My contract of employment states that if I am unable to attend the office I must telephone and speak with my manager, that SMS and email are insufficient, which is why, when I realised I would be unable to start work on my official start date because I had caught Covid, I made a point of telephoning and speaking with my manager. I now find that I have been charged £2 for doing so and that most of that has gone straight to my new employer.
Spit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.