Almondblossom

By Almondblossom

Festival time

Backblip to bank holiday Sunday: took myself off to All Points East in Hackney with a plan in mind - see three particular bands, don’t drink anything and get away without having to resort to festivals toilets… It all worked out a treat. I saw:
Tinariwen
The Smile
Michael Kiwanuka
and had the most expensive Magnum in London at £4.50 a pop :)))

Anna Calvi was on stage just before The Smile, she was ok, nothing special to me. But the others really were special. I’ve not seen Tinariwen before but have listened to them for years. They didn’t disappoint.
Seeing The Smile outside was wonderful, the sound was much clearer than at the Roundhouse in May. Plus Jonny Greenwood and Thom Yorke.
Michael Kiwanuka and his band are so talented. I’d seen them in Milan a few years ago and they’ve developed beautifully.
Then home by 11pm, even the trains worked!

Even though I was quite close to the stages, the light was difficult and I only had my phone, hence the swing-about for my main and a couple of band shots in extras just for me

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.