Being Human

 
A tiring day with my 5th and final appointment of the month - this time Dermatology in Liverpool’s Broad Green hospital. Nothing particularly new today, but I’ve come to terms with the fact that answers are still some way down the line - and at least there’s a plan of action now in place. 

Almost a year ago to the day, we visited the Anglican Cathedral for Peter Walker’s Peace Doves installation https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2878399075630188459
Today we visit again to see his Being Human. It would be hard to match the impact of the column of 10,000 paper doves, and as we expect, this is very much a more subdued affair. 

Central - conceptually and literally - is a large-scale sculpture of two hands which symbolises our connection to each other. The hands, each measuring two metres high, are inspired by the section of Michelangelo’s Sistine Chapel ceiling masterpiece, the ‘Creation of Adam’ where God’s hand reaches out to meet Adam’s finger. 

People are encouraged to interact with the sculpture, but if I’m honest, I find the need to be photographed with or in front of everything you encounter somewhat strange. It’s almost impossible to photograph this without people, and as the theme’s ‘Connection’, it makes more sense to go for shots of interactions. 

Another installation is much less problematic. ‘Reflection’ is a memorial to the pandemic, consisting of 5,000 metal leaves; each engraved with the word ‘hope’. Symbolising the past but also the future, the leaves are arranged as if scattered by the wind, and range in colour from silver to brown to reflect an autumnal mood.

https://www.liverpoolcathedral.org.uk/visiting-us/being-human/being-human-artist-s-interpretation/

A meal and a film complete our day (Where the Crawdads Sing) - at least my medical appointments present the opportunity for a day out! 

So my main today’s a collection of connections, with extras of the full effect and of the reflection leaves. I’m afraid I’ve had no time to look at journals tonight - I’ll catch up in the morning! 

Edit: I’ve finally managed to upload the second extra - and I’ve bowed to popular opinion and changed my main. I suspected the mono would be more popular, but wanted to show the human interaction of the collage! Has anyone else been having problems uploading today? I’ve tried and failed repeatedly! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.