WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Reach

I always struggle for blips on grey days -- I should be more imaginative. Here I've fallen back on vines again, while simultaneously restricting myself to the 35mm lens. I like the way the pairs of vines seem to be reaching out to each other.

Completely unrelated to the above, CERN in Switzerland has restored the first ever web page to life. Well, partially -- currently it's emulating dialup modem speeds (300/75 -- remember those?). I think practically everyone on the Internet must be trying to connect to it, which could be a problem if it's running on the workstation Tim Berners-Lee originally used in 1990. The BBC has a news story about it that you can read instead, if you can't get to the page itself.

Speaking of links and webs and reaching, have you seen Blipfoto's Tree of Life project? It's a great idea, and I'm looking forward to seeing the tree. It was nogbad who introduced me to Blipfoto indirectly, by tweeting his blips. Back in 2000, he was a fellow tutor on an innovative Open University online course which taught over 10,000 students about the development of the Internet. What a long way the web has come since 1990 ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.