Sunset Emmapolder

After another whole day at work, I needed some fresh air in the evening. I texted Peter if he wanted to join me for some drone flying, and of course he wanted that.

I picked him up around 19:30. Destination: Emmapolder, near Uithuizen. A familiar location, with beautiful views during low tide and sunset. What could go wrong?

When we arrived we immediately felt the strong wind. Drone flying wasn't an option at all. Why did my weather apps tell me otherwise??

The drones stayed in the car and we took our DSLRs and tripods instead. When we popped over the dyke, we had our second disappointment.
Although it was low tide, the views weren't that beautiful. The mud flats were completely overgrown with grasses and samphire. (in dutch: zeekraal)
On top of that the sun wasn't casting beautiful rays of light over the landscape. Only the horizon was beautifully lit.

We walked around for a while, but I just couldn't find any composition. And the moment of the sunset was approaching fast. Once the sun would be behind the horizon, it would be game over. what to do??
Suddenly I had the idea to just capture that beautifully lit horizon. I attached my 100-400mm lens and fired some shots.

I must confess that I'm rather pleased with the result.
I didn't expect this to come out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.