Smoke is back on the railway.

Well, steam really but you can’t see much of that for this black clag. Maybe it’s because the engine hasn’t been used for a while that it needs its pipes clean. This sort of emission doesn’t do our case any good.

Most of the day was very good. Wittersham was a delight with everything working to timetable. I had a couple of people who run the signalman training course in for the afternoon filming me doing various things for their course. Very helpful in working the gates for me.

It all went wrong later this evening as I volunteered to go to Tenterden box at the end of my shift at Wittersham Road to facilitate shunting between Rolvenden and Tenterden. I’ve been here an hour now and no idea what’s going on. Even if the move finishes in the next 30 minutes it’ll gone a 8.00pm by the time I get home.

Edit: now 8.45pm and they’re still not finished and they’ve got to get back to Rolvenden yet. I’ve made my feelings known. Been on duty since 10.00am

Second edit: 9.30pm, just waiting for the return working to be given out of section, then I can go home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.