Harvest

Spent the morning doing some catch up and, having popped down again to rifle through papers at P’s house, confirming changes to upcoming insurance policies etc.
Later I managed to get a nail appointment and was rather pleased with the new design of single bright spots at the base of each nail. Went to visit P, and met T there who’d gone because the Dr had called him to say P has picked up a chest infection and in the night was put on oxygen and more antibiotics. He was asleep at first but was quite chirpy when he woke up and we chatted about T’s day dressing the bar for Christmas for an event to attract local businesses for Christmas parties…apparently end August/early September is the peak time for making Christmas bookings!
Chatted to Dr and to nurse in charge, who was helpful when we explained about the lost watch and electric razor. At one point P was talking normally and then said ‘I’m surprised to see my mother over there, I don’t know what she’s doing here as I thought she was in a care home’. Not long after he said ‘I think I’ve had one of my strange visions again…if that was my mother she’d be 115yrs old!’. So, some delirium but it’s not full on. Probably the infection that’s causing it.
Once his supper arrived we left him to eat and came home to make our own. Afterwards spent half an hour down at the allotment collecting the onions that are now dried out a bit (before forecast rain at the weekend) and the next set of ripe tomatoes. Watered everything….corn on the cob looking nearly ready and lots of cucumbers.
Home for Repair Shop and Shetland episode….not yet the denouement though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.