OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Three-masted barque

This is the Norwegian sail training ship which visits Orkney every year. I was heading to Shapinsay and noticed the pilot boat leaving as the ferry did.
I later saw it again as it guided the Statsraad Lehmkuhl through the stretch of water called The String. She passed closer than this, but I prefer this shot to the 'square-on' ones. The history of the ship is on Wiki.
On my walk, I headed west from Balfour village, a direction I've avoided before as it means you are under the gaze of The Castle and there may be someone there who, upon seeing you, may touch an intercom button and hiss 'release the hounds'. Not really. We have right to roam here in Scotland but it isn't always clear what constitutes 'curtillage', ie the property which cannot be accessed. No hounds came so I walked past Doocot Point, Twi Ness and Stromberry, then north past Grukalty Pier and on to Salt Ness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.