Split view

I followed the River Ribble and country lanes today all the way to a new destination, Preston - which I was rather taken by during my brief cycle through the park to the station.  I was on my last legs, needing food but also wanting to catch the earlier train to prevent a two hour wait. Once your head is set, there's no stopping for a bar.  I made it, but the gentle slope up from the river through the park across pebbled speed bumps felt epic!

I also found myself a new hill out of Whalley which, once up high, took me through a picturesque little valley of gentle ups and downs.  It made for a nice change, particularly with big cloud looming over the Dales as I skirted by.

In the end, not only did I catch the train two hours early but I also saved over half an hour with a six-minute-to-spare dash across the platforms at Leeds station - I have the Northern app to thank for that, homing me in on the platforms and timings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.