Imagine the view....

By btc

London A-Z: Old Compton Street W1...

....there were only a few streets that when I thought about starting this series were automatically going to be in it, this is one of them.

Old Compton Street is one of Soho's busiest streets and the main thoroughfare of London's gay community and one where if you want to walk down with a set of handcuffs on fire you can.

The street is full of gay bars, the most infamous of them being the Admiral Duncan which was the site in 1999 where neo-nazi David Copeland's bombing campaign after targeting the black community in Brixton and the Asian community in Brick Lane, killed 3 people on this street, one of whom was a pregnant woman.

Soho was as entertaining as ever, during my hour stint taking photos just after midnight I was propositioned sexually by 4 women, 1 guy and one guy dressed as a woman and as far as I could tell only 3 out of them wanted money for my company. I've still got it. (Also proposition a number more times by the drug dealers but that's just standard).

I also got surrounded later on by 3 guys who I think were contemplating jumping me for my camera but I stared them down, tripod in hand ready to strike and they soon went away.

I do love Soho.

I am glad that so many of you seemed to enjoy my visit to the record shop yesterday, how many of you suddenly thought about your vinyl collection? And the lovely comments about the boys, I think that they really enjoyed going, so did Jayne.

Larger than life

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.