Sunset

We were up at 4 and left just before 5, giving us lots of time (we thought) to get our 8.10 flight. Unfortunately we got about 10 miles along the M11, hit a traffic jam and stayed there for 2 and a half hours. Alfie had kindly insisted on taking us and was supposed to be at work at 8.30. We missed our flight but managed to get seats on a Ryanair flight for 5.30 this afternoon at great expense. The price was going up as we were trying to book it. It made more sense to stay at Stanstead once we’d arrived which meant a very dull 9 hour wait for our flight. I had a couple of glasses of wine to calm my nerves but to be honest, I was so desperate to get here by that point I would have wing walked if I’d had to. I cried when we took off (as usual) then watched a film on my iPad and had another glass of wine and before we knew it we were descending into Malaga airport and I cried again when we landed.
We had a 45 minute drive in the hire car from Malaga to La Herradura. It’s 12.45 here now and we’ve arrived at our apartment and unpacked, bought 2 bottles of water and are about to call it a night as we’re absolutely shattered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.