Small haul

I've not been buying any vegetables these last few weeks, other than mushrooms if that counts, and making something everyday with what we have growing in the garden. We do have a short  growing season here so we probably started later than many others in the UK and will finish sooner! The tomatoes have taken ages to ripen but at last they are providing us with their sweet fruits. Unfortunately they weren't ripe at the same time as the cucumbers which were ready weeks ago, but I guess you can't have everything. We have kilos of soft fruit in the freezer which will last at least until next summer! 
I had a trip out to Hexham today which was a pleasant change and actually remembered to buy everything I went for, something of a first! Whilst I was there I visited the leisure centre to find out about swimming sessions. Apparently you now have to book on line to whatever sessions are available. I'm happy to do that as I would like to go regularly but with the winter weather here being a bit unpredictable it may not work in the winter months. I've always enjoyed swimming but have not been for several years now. Hopefully it's like riding a bike! I think it will be great exercise for my knee which has been so much better these last couple of weeks. My other option for swimming is the outdoor pool at Stanhope which I have been assured is warm, not convinced, but maybe I'll give it a try, it is closer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.