earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Darren and Kindreth

My youngest brother and his wife atop Simon's Seat, a rare moment away from their boys, Ian (8) scrambling about the gritstone outcrop, and Jake (10) hiding in a quiet spot by himself. I wanted to give them all a trip out into the Dales to climb a 'mountain'. It was a reminder of the family dynamics I used to deal with when walking with Forrest and Roam at that age. The more fun the one was having, the more determined the other became not to have fun! Parenting is hard. But also wonderful. My two nephews are very fine, fit and talented little men. I think Ian is set to become a mountain runner. 

The logistics weren't easy, involving three cars. Thanks to Shannon and Roam for their help in providing drop-offs and pick-ups. Forrest ran out from Ilkley to join us at Burnsall, a chance to show off to his uncle and cousins! They were impressed. It was lovely to be able to all hang out together at the Red Lion afterwards, plotting to lure my brother back to England. Kindreth has already bought into the idea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.