90 years ago

Today my mum was born, unfortunately she succumbed to breast cancer in May 1982 just a few weeks after her father passed away on Good Friday. Mum was the eldest of the four top right next to her brother David who will be 89 in November. Below are “the twins”, auntie Margaret in the middle and my godmother auntie Joan at the bottom (the younger 87 year old of the two by 20 minutes). This photo was taken in the back garden where I have memories of having lunch on a tiny wooden picnic table and chairs with my brother when we were three or four years old. I also remember staying over in the spare room sleeping on a feather mattress and waking up to the sound of sparrows chirping in the Russian vine growing up the wall. Very happy days :-))
A dampish ride to ParkRun and back was my respite first thing this morning where I surprised myself with a comfortable short 21 minute 5k run.
The rest of the morning was spent taxiing auntie around and collecting her monthly prescription and some shallots for the fish pie which I prepared later on.
A message from cousin H has just arrived to say that B had been up all night long with a sore throat and she wouldn’t be coming down to take her mum to chapel tomorrow morning. That’ll mean a very short and early doors ride for me tomorrow morning, acceptance of the situation is the only way forward.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.