Street Art . . .

. . . or not!

Surely this is a good idea and a fine piece of work . . . in the wrong place.

We were both in Carlisle this afternoon, Gordon was going to the match and I to the hairdresser. I had a couple of hours to spare (the Library was closed - on Saturday afternoon!!) which I spent in the bookshops and a café and the Apple Store. My purchases were meagre. Then I went in search of another bit of Carlisle Street Art, of which there is a lot, most I know about but this painting of Aira Force I did not.

I eventually found it down an alley between buildings off a main street . The extra shows what it was like when it was painted two years ago - with the artist, a local guy - Martin Evans.

You can see from my blip what the problem is. The alleyway leads nowhere and is just a dumping ground for bins etc. Did no one realise this at the time? Wasn’t there anywhere else, more public where it could be appreciated? How many local people know it is there? Do any visitors find it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.