There be Consequences!

The awning thing I blipped yesterday is brilliant but - There are consequences to doing such a thing. One of them is that we are unable to use the existing rotary washing line ground socket, it's too close to the awning. I bought a new ground spike and started digging. Don't know about your lawn but ours is full of buried stones, rocks and even bricks from when they were building the houses. The ground itself is very heavy clay, under the topsoil, so the cold chisel came in handy, yet again, to pound through the rocks and hard clay. The instructions said to make a hole 45cm deep. The metal pole holder is only 30cm so I dug down to 31cm, didn't seem much point going deeper than that. I had a bag of 'PostCrete' in the garage, this is used for fencing posts so seemed like a good idea. I ran out of that so topped it off with some 'General Purpose Concrete' mix. Seems to be setting but I wouldn't use it for about a week, it's quite deep, and thick.
The brackets arrived so attached them to the awning posts to make sure they are absolutely solid against the house wall, and fence so we have 2 sides solid in case of winds. The fourth post is concreted in so should be pretty stable too.
A busy day, topped of with F.M.i.L. knocking off the side of her 'hospital' bed! The frame is wooden and I have to admit I noticed a slight gap yesterday, just didn't expect it to fall off. Wood glued the dowels, banged it together with a mallet and put a very tight ratchet strap around the whole bed end.
Sunday tomorrow, may get a bit of a relaxing day, apart from a couple of jobs I know of.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.