Frond

I decided that a relatively quiet day was in order, to try and give me a chance to fight off the dreaded cold. However, in the end the morning was spent at a garden centre buying replacements for some of the plants we'd lost over the winter, or which had grown old and decrepit. This, of course, meant that the afternoon was spent in the garden preparing soil and planting. I just hope we have a better summer ahead (no droughts or deluges) to give them all a decent chance to establish. This rather attractive fern was one of the purchases that didn't quite get planted. The uncurling fronds are a delicate pinkish-purple, and contrast with the more mature finely-cut green leaves.

Thanks for all the lovely comments on yesterday's new born calf. I'm struggling a bit with blipping at the moment. Life has become very hectic, with the fieldwork season about to begin, supporting Ben and Alex in their various exams and assignments, doing various voluntary conservation projects and continuing to keep the house and garden vaguely in order. I feel that I'm probably trying to keep rather too many balls in the air at once, and unfortunately my time on blip is probably the most expendable. I miss the social interaction, although I do try and peek at your journals on my phone when I have a few minutes to spare, but I suspect this is how it must be for the next few months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.