Now we have everything

By Gembop

One week old!

My baby is a week old already, how did that happen?

Charlie decided to stop breastfeeding completely yesterday and just as I thought it was all over and that I had failed (melodramatic, I know) he suddenly started up again. I still took it as a sign to go to a breastfeeding clinic and so we went this morning.

It was Charlie's second car ride after his trip home from the hospital. He didn't want to feed for the first 45 minutes that we sat there, but once he did we got some good advice from the consultant. She watched the feed and suggested a few changes in our position. She said that he was latching on properly initially but then pulling back which was causing the pinching. If he was to do that again, I needed to not be afraid of detaching him and starting over.

Feeling much better after that session we then decided to brave a shopping trip. Once we pulled up in a parent and child spot, Robin went off to find a trolly with the car seat 'shelf' but came back with one with an infant seat on. I read the instructions and it said it was for babies so we wrapped him up and strapped him in. By the time we got down the second aisle I felt incredibly guilty! Charlie was happily sleeping but he just looked so small. We were stopped by a number of strangers complementing him and asking how old and I cringed when I said 'one week'.

Still, that's a tick for our first visit to a children's centre and our first 'big shop'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.