Musings of a Mortal

By KennyRiley

Taylor Hawkins Tribute

I make no apology for posting a "screenshot" as my Blip for today.... it is an image that reflects a memory that I will be able to look back on and remember with fondness.

The singer is Dave Grohl of the Foo Fighters and the occasion was a concert in tribute to their drummer, Taylor Hawkins who died earlier this year.

I had forgot that it was on so I just caught the last hour of what was a 6 hour event but even in that time the raw emotion off the occasion was very evident.

After the live event was over, I "rewound the tape" and enjoyed many other artists perform. Artists like the Foo Fighters had lost someone who, in their eyes, had gone too quickly.

Brian Johnson from AC/DC sang a couple of classics as well as Rush duo, Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson.... and memories of Malcolm Young and Neil Peart would have been at the forefront of their minds and when Brian May played and sang "Love of my life", memories of Queen and Freddy Mercury playing Wembley for Live Aid back in 1985 came flooding back for me.... What it would have been like for Brian, none of us can know.

And when Dave opened up the Foo Fighters set with "Times like These", the emotion was all too evident for everyone to see.....

I have never lost anyone to Death that has caused me to be so overcome with emotion, so I cannot imagine what it would feel like to lose someone in this way so unexpectedly and yet the truth is Death will come to us all one day.

So maybe today we should not only take time to enjoy, as gifts, the simple things that life gives us but also to enjoy the company of the friends and family that we have while we still can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.