SilverImages

By SilverImages

Leaf Spirit, Kew Gardens

"Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength. While loving someone deeply gives you courage."
Lao Tzu
Taxi booked for 12.30 to get us to Kew Gardens to meet up with K2 and R before N’s wedding later. Very quick transfer to Elizabeth Gate and we were in before 1pm, headed straight for the Nash Conservatory where the ceremony will take place and then to the Orangery for some brunch, didn’t have any breakfast earlier, I’d have been sure to dribble bean juice down my clean white shirt. Opted instead for bacon and brie croissant, first time and it seemed a weird combination (the croissant, not brie and bacon) but it worked for me. After a quick chat with the youngsters they headed off to prepare, R is best man, and we went for a wander around the gardens. Seems so different to the last time I was here, but then it was about 35 years ago after all.
More than enough to see in a couple of hours wander around in the afternoon sunshine, so we contented ourselves with just part of it. Some interesting gardens which weren’t here before and the whole place seemed somehow less… formal. This sculpture of the Leaf Spirit somehow captured the spirit of the place for me today, so serene and “inspired by the tranquillity that we benefit from when surrounded by trees and nature”.
We sauntered back to the conservatory for the beginning of proceedings and then things just took off; the wedding ceremony, the drinks and canapes in the gardens afterwards, I’d been asked to get a couple of small family group photos (my ‘job’ for the day), a ‘train’ ride around the gardens and then we settled down in the Orangery for the meal and speeches, quite a contrast to my ‘bacon butty’ earlier. After the cake the band started up and the dancing commenced, well it was Queen after all. I needed a bit of fresh air and started to wander across the lawn to get a better view of The Hive, only to be turned back by security – trust me to get into trouble. Fortunately I’d booked the taxi for 12pm by which time I was ready for bed. The walk back through the gardens in darkness with only occasional lights at the edge of the path was quite weird really, fortunately I’d only had a few drinks otherwise I’d probably still be there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.